Historic 1880’s Village, located 9 miles east of Port Austin on M-25. Huron City had its start as a lumber town in 1854, with Langdon Hubbard being the town founder. His descendants are still keeping the history alive by caring for the buildings of his time. Most of the 11 buildings on 10 acres were built after the 1881 fire that wiped out Huron City.
Two tours available: #1 – Village buildings – the log cabin, the Huron City Church, the community house/hotel, the United States Life Saving Service Station and the general store. #2 – The other tour is the House of Seven Gables.
The House of Seven Gables was named after the book by Nathaniel Hawthorne and was built in 1883. The furnishings are from the late 1800’s, early 1900’s. Each tour takes an hour, so both tours take two hours. Special Events – Weddings: The Huron City Church makes a unique setting for your special day.
The Church was originally built in 1883 and expanded in 1925 and 1929. The stained glass windows have been logged with the Michigan State University’s Stained Glass Census. It currently seats 200, but folding chairs can be set up for a larger crowd. A bridal room is available for use before the wedding.
Pictures can be taken anywhere on the grounds, including at the House of Seven Gables. The Huron City Museums are owned and operated by the William Lyon Phelps Foundation, a private, charitable, tax exempt organization founded in 1947 by Charles A. Parcells, Sr. (1888-1948) to commemorate the teaching, writings and life of Yale professor of English, William Lyon Phelps (1865-1943).
The foundation is dedicated to educational and charitable purposes. The Huron City Museums exist to preserve, display and present the buildings, collections and grounds of Huron City Village and the House of Seven Gables as historical museums, which are open to the public Fridays and Saturdays in July and August.
Hours: Friday & Saturday, July and August